
The positions in this column are intentionally illegal. Your task is to
figure out why. 
A chess position is legal if it can be reached in an actual game,
starting from the initial array and following the rules of normal play.
When deciding legality, strategic considerations are irrelevant. The
moves leading to a legal position may be totally absurd.
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w________w
áwdwdwdrd]
àdQ0kdpdp]
ßwgw0q0wd]
Þ0wdwdwdb]
ÝP0wdP)wd]
ÜdwdBdndw]
ÛPdPdNdw)]
ÚdRdwdRIw]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw



Who’s the Goof? appears every three months on The Puzzling Side of
Chess. For problems 1-6, see  column 12 in the archives.
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Why is this position illegal?

Who’s the Goof? is a kind of negative proof game. The goal is to
prove that a position could not happen in a real game. Solving the
puzzle usually involves “backwards thinking” (retrograde analysis). 
To show that a goof exists, it is sufficient to demonstrate a logical
contradiction in the given position.

The next puzzle, by German composer Josef Haas (1922-2003),
returns to themes from the last column. It was first published in the
excellent Introduction to Retrograde Analysis by Karl Fabel in 1971.
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Why is this position illegal?

w________w
áwdwdrdwd]
àdp1n0pdb]
ßpdwdkdph]
Þdw0pdwdr]
ÝPhwdwdwd]
ÜdwdP$N)w]
Ûw)PdP)Pd]
ÚdN$QdBIw]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw

w________w
áwdwdkdwd]
àdp0w0w0w]
ßpdwdw0wd]
Þdwdwdwdw]
Ýpdwdwdwd]
Ü)w)wdwdP]
Ûw)w)PdPd]
ÚdwdwIBGw]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw



There is no shortage of goofs in the world. Here’s one more that may
challenge you.
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Why is this position illegal?

SOLUTIONS
Puzzles 7, 8, 10 by J. Coakley. Number 7 is from Winning Chess
Puzzles For Kids Volume 2 (2010). 8 and 10 are ChessCafe.com
originals (2012).

PDF hyperlinks. You can advance to the solution of any puzzle by
clicking on the underlined title above the diagram. To return to the
puzzle, click on the title above the solution diagram.
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The goof is the white king. He is in triple check. A sure sign that the
law has been broken.

w________w
áwdriwdw4]
àdpdwdphp]
ßw0wdwdpg]
Þdwdwdpdw]
ÝndwdwHw)]
Ü)w0wdw)w]
ÛPdPdwdqd]
ÚGwIR!wdR]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw

w________w
áwdwdwdrd]
àdQ0kdpdp]
ßwgw0q0wd]
Þ0wdwdwdb]
ÝP0wdP)wd]
ÜdwdBdndw]
ÛPdPdNdw)]
ÚdRdwdRIw]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw
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If you noticed that Black has three knights, you are of course correct.
But that in itself is not enough to make the position illegal. What does
prove that a goof has occurred is that the third knight cannot be a
promoted pawn.

Black is missing one pawn (on the h-file). This pawn did not promote by
capturing on g1 because the only missing white piece is the dark-square
bishop, which could never have reached g1. The black h-pawn could
have promoted on h1, after White played hxg3. However, a promoted
knight could never have moved from h1 because of the white pawns on
f2 and g3. Therefore the position is illegal.

There are several unusual piece placements in the diagram. These
“distractors” can all be explained by legal moves. For example, the
white king could have reached g1, after d3 and hxg3, by the route Kd2-
e3-f4-g4-h3-h2-g1. The check from the white rook on e3 could have
happened on the previous move by the discovery Ne5-f3+. 

w________w
áwdwdrdwd]
àdp1n0pdb]
ßpdwdkdph]
Þdw0pdwdr]
ÝPhwdwdwd]
ÜdwdP$N)w]
Ûw)PdP)Pd]
ÚdN$QdBIw]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw
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Problème 

It is difficult to pinpoint the goof in this puzzle, but it is related to 
the white bishop on g1, the black pawn on a4, and the missing black 
h-pawn.

Experienced chess detectives typically begin their investigations by
taking an inventory of pieces, and identifying necessary captures and
promotions. The missing pieces provide as many “clues” as those on 
the board. 

White is missing six pieces. Three of them were captured by the black
d-pawn, on its way from d7 to a4. 

The white bishop that began the game on c1 was captured on c1
because there are still unmoved pawns on b2 and d2. That means that
the bishop on g1 is the former f-pawn. To become a dark-square bishop
and exit the eighth rank, the f-pawn had to promote on b8, which
requires six captures on dark squares (f2xe3xd4xc5xb6xa7xb8=B). 

Neither white rook ever escaped from behind the wall of white pawns.
They did not leave along the open f-file because of the unmoved bishop
on f1 (which is blocked by e2 and g2). Thus, the three pieces captured
by the black d-pawn were the queen and two knights. 

Black is missing eight pieces. The white f-pawn, which captured six
times on dark squares en route to b8, did not take the light-square
bishop (from c8). It also did not take the dark-square bishop, which was
captured on f8 since there are still unmoved pawns on e7 and g7. So 
we can deduce that the white f-pawn captured all the other missing
black pieces, including the h-pawn.

w________w
áwdwdkdwd]
àdp0w0w0w]
ßpdwdw0wd]
Þdwdwdwdw]
Ýpdwdwdwd]
Ü)w)wdwdP]
Ûw)w)PdPd]
ÚdwdwIBGw]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw



However, the black h-pawn could not be captured by the white f-pawn
unless it first promoted into a piece (on h1) and then moved onto the
path from e3 to b8. 

In order to promote on h1, the h-pawn would require two captures, for
example hxg3xh2-h1=Q. The piece captured on h2 could be the rook
that started on h1. But there are no other available pieces to capture
on g3 (or elsewhere on the g-file). White’s queen and knights were
captured on c6, b5, and a4. The original dark-square bishop was
captured on c1, and the rook that started on a1 was captured
somewhere to the left of f1.

So, there are not enough missing white pieces to explain a promotion
on h1, which means there are not enough missing black pieces to
explain a promotion on b8. Therefore, we could say that the bishop
on g1 is the goof. It cannot be the original dark-square bishop and it
cannot be a promoted pawn.  

There are frequently different perspectives on what makes a position
illegal, and different ways to demonstrate a contradiction. In this
case, an alternate view is that the black pawn on a4 is the goof. The
black h-pawn made two captures to promote on h1, which allowed the
white f-pawn to promote on b8. But then there are not enough
missing white pieces to explain three captures by the black d-pawn.  

The most accurate conclusion is that the position is illegal because
the number of missing white pieces is less than the number of
required black captures. 
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Checks often provide important clues in “retro thinking”. 

w________w
áwdriwdw4]
àdpdwdphp]
ßw0wdwdpg]
Þdwdwdpdw]
ÝndwdwHw)]
Ü)w0wdw)w]
ÛPdPdwdqd]
ÚGwIR!wdR]
wÁÂÃÄÅÆÇÈw



The goof in this puzzle is the white rook on d1. He is checking the black
king, but White had no legal move on the previous turn to reach this
position. Consider the possibilities. 

The last move was not by the rook. It could only move to d1 from along
the d-file, where it would already be giving check. It cannot be White’s
turn if Black is in check.

That leaves one other option: a discovered check. 

The last move was not Kd2-c1+ because the white king would be in an
impossible double check on d2, from the black queen and pawn at c3.

Showing that a discovered check by Nd5-f4+ or Nd3-f4+ was impossible
is trickier.

Imagine the position with the white knight on d5 and the f4 square vacant.
White would then be in check from the black bishop on h6. However, that
check would be illegal because the bishop could only move to h6 from
along the c1-h6 diagonal (where it would already give check) and no
discovered checks are possible.

But if there were a black piece on f4, then White’s last move could be a
discovered check and capture by Nd5xf4+. So it is necessary to prove
that there could not have been a black piece on f4.

An inventory shows that Black is missing two pieces: the light-square
bishop and a pawn.

The doubled white a-pawns required a capture on a3, which is a dark
square. The missing black pawn was captured there. The only other
missing black piece is the light-square bishop, which could never be
on the dark square f4. Therefore, a discovered check by the capture
Nd5xf4+ (or Nd3xf4+) was impossible.

Since White had no possible move on the previous turn, the position
is illegal. This situation is known as “retro-stalemate”. 

Until next time!
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